Wood Turning Class - Sign up list

Hi all!

I’ve been developing a curriculum for a wood turning class and we ran our prototype for the class last weekend.

Both participants finished the project and walked away with a useful object! They gave me some excellent notes, and I’m refining the class based on what I learned.

The next class is on November 2nd, but it has already full. Between the small class sizes (two people) and the initial interest, I figured I’d start a sign-up list here so I can make sure I get everyone in a fair method.

About the Class

This is a basic introduction to wood turning. I am not an expert woodturner, just an interested and excited novice that has turned a few things.

In this class, you will learn the basics of the lathe itself, and how to safely operate the lathe with a couple tools (we will not be going over every common tool profile, but if you have a specific tool you’d like to learn I can adapt the lesson to try to include it). You will also learn how to plan out operations so that you can order your cuts in a way that makes sense for your project.

This is a 3 hour class that will take you from never having touched a lathe to a completed form. Currently the project is a wood-turned lidded box (yes, boxes can be round). I use mine as a salt vault (used to hold salt for cooking, making it easy to grab a ‘pinch’ of salt).

I charge $10 for the class to cover materials. If material costs change, I will update the cost to reflect it (likely only down, as the wood I’m purchasing can probably be found cheaper than my current source). I aim to charge only the cost of materials (in the class, we will be turning some black walnut).