Sewing Organization and Maintenance session, 14th or 22nd January

Hi!

I’d like to organize a day to do some cleanup and maintenance on all the sewing machines.

I will need some assistance with this project, as I am not very experienced with sewing machine maintenance, and also I currently have an arm injury.

I’m proposing either the 14th or the 22nd of January, around 2pm.

Goals:

• Make sure we have at least 4 working sewing machines
  • Label the sewing machines with the type of bobbin they use
  • Find out if the sergers work
  • Make a list of anything we should buy such as feet, parts, etc.
  • Update the wiki page
  • Potentially: start a sewing machine loaner program
  • Potentially: identify machines to get rid of

If you can come, please comment with which day is better for you.

This is open to everyone, including people who have little or not sewing experience. If you would like to learn to use various sewing machines, come on down.

Tagging various people who may be interested

@Davonna
@taralee
@yeungx
@Index
@rsim
@xquared
@Janet
@Phillip_Ma
@chadleaman

1 Like

I would like to mention I have a fully functioning Babylock Evolution Serger I would be happy to give/loan to the space if it turns out there is one not working!

1 Like

That model definitely has more functionality than the ones here, so I think I’m in favour of taking it if we can get rid of something else to free up space.

1 Like

specific for sergers, there is benefits to having 2. They take so long to restring that is it common to have 1 black one and one white one set up. however there is no need to have more then 2.

From what I recall the VHS one is not self-threading. The one serger Avvy is offering is self-threading.

Should you decide to discard the one I donated a while back, I’d like right of first refusal assuming it still works. :+1:

2 Likes

One serger on loan to vhs is mine. It isn’t self threading. I think it would be good to have 2 there.

I am available on January 14