Machine Controller Building

Is there anyone interested in building machine controllers? I am designing a new one for the taig and other small machines.

I can share my experience with setting up mach3 and general knowledge of stepper motors, controllers, relays and the parallel interface.

I want to explore EMC2 (Linux CNC) with the Axis GUI, alternatives to parallel breakout boards and closed loop stepper motors.

To be frank my knowledge of electrics is pretty weak, I need some input on how to layout my controller box so it is neat, tidy and reliable. Also it would be really great if someone would be willing to check my designs and component selection for obvious issues.

5 Likes

I’m interested. I have some experience with industrial controls, motor drivers, etc.

I don’t have much experience with CNC in particular though, so it’s a learning experience for me too.

1 Like

Does this include 3d printer controllers?

1 Like

@handy Definitely, anything that moves motors.

I’m interested!

Have been working on my Taig CNC conversion based around a standalone FPGA based controller from China (which seems to work with gcode postprocessed for mach 3). It’s similar to this one but also has inputs for a MPG handwheel which seems to work great. Really wanted to get away from needing a separate PC and the connectivity/pulse frequency issues.

Would be great to get involved to see what I can contribute and learn (and hopefully also motivate myself to finish my own conversion…) Have some spare cabling, connectors and 48v power supply if needed.

I opted for DSP stepper drivers, but wish I’d known more about the closed loop steppers earlier as they seem interesting to work with.

1 Like

@lukecyca @handy @ryanc

Should we plan a meetup to talk about objectives?

Sounds good - do you have a date/time in mind?

I’m willing to help out if/when I can! Not a whole lot of time, but I do enjoy machine controllers.