I need help with motors

Hello! I am trying to invent something. I have some experience with electronics and motors, but I need more help.

I am inventing an electric cake turn table. My wife decorates cakes and she uses a circular turn table to put on the frosting and smooth it. I would like to put a motor on it.

I have built a prototype and I think that the motor isn’t strong enough. I don’t know how to go about finding the right one. My wife was happy with a motor that’s about 30 rpm. The motor is 2.2 Nm. I think that’s about 7 W. The problem was when it slowed down the power was very weak. I’m wondering how to make it function when it’s going slower than 30 rpm.

I am thinking about adding a 2 speed gear box - this seems tricky.
I am thinking about a stronger motor
I want to add a foot pedal to control the speed. I’m going to get a guitar Wah Wah pedal and hack.
I am wondering whether DC or AC is better in the long run.

Right now I’m most confused about where to buy motors. The first ones I bought were from Amazon - a company called geartisan. Finding the Torque or power rating was frustrating.

Hi Ben!

For speed control you should be fine doing that electronically rather than mechanically, as long as the motor and controller can handle the load… It’s possible you’re current-limited by the speed controller you’re using now, or even the input power supply; you could try driving the same motor directly from a DC variable power supply (e.g. 30V/10A ones are commonplace) and seeing if it performs better. You should be able to get that motor’s gear ratio and voltage/current specs from the spec sheet or product listing.

There are probably a few dozen DC gear motors gathering dust at the space if you want to try a few different options. :slight_smile:

1 Like

OK Thanks!

That is interesting to think about the controller perhaps being the issue.