Group buy: Full size honeycomb grid for the laser cutter

The existing honeycomb grids are pretty worn and too small for larger paper or fabric projects, so let’s get a full size one! If this is something that you would like to see at the space, then pitch in and we’ll get one. I’ll start it off with $15.

This looks like the one to get, it’s $62USD + $77USD shipping. If someone finds it cheaper or locally post it here

4 Likes

put me in for $15 as well :slight_smile:

1 Like

i got 10 to throw in

2 Likes

I’m in for $20.

2 Likes

I can do $20

2 Likes

I’ll throw $20 at this. Full-sized honeycomb is amazing… makes cutting out fabric patterns a breeze. That actually looks like a pretty good price compared to last time I was pricing it out.

2 Likes

I’l throw in $15.

1 Like

First off let me say that I have no experience with this but since we’re talking about cutting paper and fabric do we need a 1 inch thick steel grate? Would stainless steel fabric work as well?

Of course, it could reflect the laser and that would be a bad thing or the laser could eat away the stainless steel fabric. Either of which would nullify the suggestion.

Additional work would be required such as tacking the metal fabric onto some flat stock or angle iron to hold it stiff and flat. We have the metal shop and people who know how to use it. Let me be clear, I am not suggesting putting another item on anyone’s plate. However, there are those metal shop courses that are going on and perhaps this could be an exercise for the course participants?

Just my 2; h-m-m-m-m, I up that to $15.

It’s an interesting idea, and I’d be all for a DIY solution, perhaps other people can share ideas or opinions on doing something like this. My concern would be flatness, the laser bed needs to be perfectly flat and rigid enough to stay flat during and after use.