Does the Hackspace want a CNC Taig Mini Mill?!?

Hello my name is Brian, I just signed up as a member and I have been around the space a few times. I have been making stuff with my Taig Milling machine for around 10 years now, and recently my machining projects have really outgrown the capacity and capability of the machine. I have not really been using the machine much and when I discovered the hackspace I thought it would be a perfect place to donate the machine to!

The machine is light, not as heavy as the larger one in the corner but heavier than the sherline. I will create a tutorial on how to make a small introductory part for fun! It is all in good working order! The cabinet is showing a bit of wear and tear but it is fully functional. It has a flood coolant system which is great for cutting aluminum, primarily what the machine is capable of. I will include a control computer which runs Mach3, which is a very capable controller. I will also include a programming computer with a legal copy of a simple 2-1/2 D CAM program called Sheet CAM which is very easy to use.

The machine requires regular maintenance to properly function. I will make detailed instructions how to keep it going. Tooling is expensive! You will have to supply your own cutters as they are easy to break. There will be a list of recommendations and suggestions to lessen the the chance of damaging or breaking things, but it will likely happen anyways, don’t worry! The machine is easy to fix and parts are cheap. I think it would be a great candidate for VHS projects to hack and increase the capability of the machine. One idea I had is a big boon of the machine is that it is “open loop” meaning the controller receives no position feedback. If the spindle or machine stalls during any part of a cut you have to start back from the very beginning which is frustrating! Encoder feedback to the controller to keep track of these errors would save a lot of time and stop the machine in a stall.