Any recommendations on where to find old CPU heatsinks and fans? Or recommendations on how to best keep COB LED cool

Bonjour VHS folks!

For the last few years we’ve been using a cheap LED grow light (~25w) we bought at Costco to start seedlings in the spring and to grow things that don’t grow so well outside (like thai basil). Considering how successful it has been, a while back I ordered a pack of COB LED with the intention of building a little grow room with a little more power… and the COBs have been sitting in their package since. I ordered the 10W COBs thinking I might get away with passive cooling from old CPU heat sinks and use the fans if needed.

I’m hoping to keep cost to a minimum. Does anyone know if perhaps some of the recycling places might allow us to grab old PCs or parts from them? Otherwise I’m planning to go check Free Geeks when I have a chance.

I’m also open to other suggestions if anyone has experience with this… I’m no expert in any of this.

I’d be interested in seeing pictures of your setup!

It’s plausible that you’d be able to get away with passive cooling for those COBs. The only way to know for sure is to try it and monitor the heat for a bit. VHS used to have a bunch of old heatsinks (with fans attached), but that was around a year ago, I’m sure they’ve been scrapped by now. Sometimes North Star Metal has entire skips full of old heatsinks. I’d check there first, and then it’s right near FreeGeek / The Hackery too if that doesn’t work.

You might not even need proper heatsinks, just a big chunk of metal.

1 Like

Very cool you are growing food! This isn’t COB specific but I know one member who used an old metal cooking pan as a heat sink and light deflector for some grow lights. So - seconding Jarrett there on the ol’ big chunk of metal. You may be able to find some old aluminum pans at Value Village (which is also up near FreeGeek on Hastings).