Woodworking newbie

Hi all,
For some time I’ve been looking to start making some wooden toys, activities and general items for my 2yo daughter and potentially other parents. I live in a townhouse with limited space to work or use machinery which makes too much noise. I’m very much a beginner and self-taught (via YouTube) but looking to enhance my woodworking skills and knowledge.

I’ve read a lot of good things about the community at VHS and am looking forward to being a part of it once we get through quarantine.

For now I’m going to do all the prep and may ask for some help deciding on materials, etc for my next project(s). For now I just wanted to say hi!

Cheers, Alex

7 Likes

Hi and welcome to the forum.

While I’m personally a long-time member, I really only learned how to woodwork over the last couple years. The community here has been great. Our woodshop has continually gotten better as all our members contribute.

We’ve currently got a pretty representative set of tools, table saw, planer, joiner, bandsaw, lathes, sanders, routers, etc, and with our new location (as of a little over a year ago) we’ve got space. Obviously right now COVID is affecting our ability to access the space, but now is a great time to plan your projects.

There’s a wide variety of skillsets, and we are welcoming and happy to share our experience. We’ve got everything from passionate beginners to seasoned professional cabinetmakers who are members.

I used to teach a woodturning class until I had my child last year. I’m looking forward to starting these up. Occasionally, usually based on need, there are classes for safety basics.