Wiggly Wooden Wildlife - making interactive lasercut toys!

What are these wiggly wooden toys I speak of? Well, I was inspired by those classic wooden snake toys and wanted to design some toy critters that had several kinds of joints and motions built into them. So without further ado… BAM! Here are my first prototypes!

I made these prototypes at Makerlabs, before I knew about and joined VHS last month - so from now on, I’ll be continuing this project here! My plan is to continue refining my workflow, construction, and the materials, and hopefully by the end of it, try to start selling em! (If anyone has advice on the selling front - where, how, for how much - all of it is appreciated, I’m completely new to this sort of thing)

Design Breakdown:

1. Inspiration + Analysis

I looked at wooden toys, especially the wiggly snakes. I wanted to try and integrate motion and joints into my toys, as I really enjoy action figures and tactile interactive designs. I saw that the motion of the snake functioned because of a cloth spine down the middle, with segmented body parts flanking each side.

2. Designing the Fox
    I started with a fox because my partner is very fond of them - and I wanted to keep the project a little more simple before delving into other joint types.

I made this incredibly quick sketch on my phone before popping into illustrator to vector it out. I focused on the idea of tied together pieces of wood threaded through a hole, using string as the axle to my joints.

3. Vectoring the Fox