Turning my clunky old beginner keyboard into a fancy MIDI controller

I’ve been posting about this on slack but figured it’d be better to create a topic here to use as a sort of project log that more people can see. Hopefully some folks find this interesting! I’ll be tearing down an electric piano, figuring out how the keys work, and building the best MIDI controller I can with the parts and a bunch of new stuff.

My family got this Yamaha PSR-170 in 2002 or something. It’s a beginner keyboard with a bunch of built-in samples (including some entertaining ones like a very enthusiastic guy yelling stuff like “DJ!”, “Oh yeah!” and “Dictionary!”). I never used it much myself but years later it ended up in my closet and sat there for a while. I started learning piano last year and it’s been pretty handy for that, but it has no velocity detection, no USB midi, and it’s absolutely massive. But the keys themselves are still decent and it’s nice to have 61 of them. And for various reasons this has ended up being a somewhat sentimental item, so I felt it deserved a new life rather than being replaced and most likely discarded.

So, here’s the guts. It’s got a bunch of stuff in the top including some speakers, amplifiers for said speakers, I/O, some ROM to presumably store all the built-in samples and wave tables, and a YMW728-F “tone generator” to do the actual synthesis. The information I can find online about the chip is sparse and it sounds like kind of a nightmare and isn’t worth salvaging for anything cool, but that’s not super surprising considering the tier of this device.

I cleaned the keys, which come apart easily once unscrewed and are split into separate assemblies for each octave, each with 3 parts.

With the top set aside, I was left with just the key matrix board, ribbon cable, and keybed, which will serve as the base for my new MIDI controller. I connected the ribbon cable to an arduino nano and set about figuring out the key matrix.