Terminator arm - Halloween costume

Hello everyone, I’m new at VHS. I came across the VHS website by chance and it was evident to me that I had to join.

My first commitment (if work allows me to finish on time) is a Halloween costume of Terminator. I want to make a fake open wound on my arm and show the metallic mechanism that controls the fingers of the T-800. The plan is to build a metal sheet enclosure to house the rounded bars that will move up and down as in the Terminator self-healing scenes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TmKynWXqxTw&t=85s Except that I will pull them with hidden fabric threads attached to my fingers on one end and to the metal bars on the other end. I would use springs connected to the other end of the metal bars to move them back to a closed-fist position.

I have never used Latex or Silicone as fake skin, so any advice will be appreciated. I am also putting an LED to look like the machine eye with some makeup and more fake wounds. I found blank tattoo practice skin sheets that I may be able to stain to match the real skin color, And I’m hoping that I can use liquid silicone or latex to do the details of the wound.

If I have time, I would like to emulate the sound of the mechanism. My first thought was to hide a servo somewhere in the costume. But I think it makes more sense to hide a speaker and play the sounds instead (If the delay is short enough. Not sure what would be the best device to do this. It would be great if an android app could reproduce sounds by pressing the volume or lock screen key of the phone. Maybe an Arduino would be fast enough to play the sound right when a button is pressed with the other hand and sync with the move of the T-800 mechanism). If someone has any code to play pre-recorded sounds on an Arduino, raspberry, or android with a physical button please let me know.

Thanks for reading and I will post updates about my progress.

Cheers. :mechanical_arm:
Noah

3 Likes