Suggestions for Sewing classes

Dear All,

I am interested in learning sewing. Can anyone in this group would be interested in taking a few classes? Or are there any suggestions where I could attend them.

Please suggest.

Thanks.
Omkar

1 Like

I would also be interested in a small sewing workshop.

Hi!

What kind of things are you interested in making? Clothes, toys, bags, fur suits… ?

I primarily do stuffed animals, and I would like to run a workshop but I’ve been staying away from the space for the last few weeks because Covid.

Anyway, I could definitely show you the basics of either hand sewing or machine sewing and reading patterns, but I can’t help with any kind of complicated garment construction.

(And if you’re looking for something more formal, I believe Makerlabs offers sewing classes, and I’ve also heard of Vancouver, BC Sewing Classes - Lessons for Beginners, Garment-Making + – Spool of Thread. I have no personal experience with either, though.)

1 Like

Hi Liz,

Thanks so much for your reply.
I am completely new to sewing. I want to learn some basics; there is some sewing requirement for some of my crochet projects, like lining for the Beanie Hat. It would be great if you could run a small workshop for basics.

Thanks for sharing information about Makerlabs and Spool of Thread (SoT). I checked with SoT, they are not offering any classes at the moment, but yes, Makerlabs is one option.

Please let me know if you could plan a workshop.

Hey Omkar! That’s great you are getting into sewing! Have you been able to check out any videos or books about sewing (the library has loads). Not as helpful as in person for sure but still really good to cover a lot of the basics. Those helped me a lot when I got started a few years ago. Check out this list of of links which might be helpful. Cheers!

Hi, I am available to teach a small sewing workshop :smile: