Screen T-shirt printing

I’m new to VHS and I saw the screen T-shirt printing machine at the shop. Can anybody instruct me about screen printing? What materials do I need? I can buy more colours and donate any left overs to the shop.

1 Like

Hey, I am the screen printing guy.

Unfortunately, I am too busy these days to make it down to the shop much. but i can point you in the right direction.

Screen printing is best for mass production. if you want to make less than 10 of something, I highly recommend using the vinyl cutter.

The local screen print supplier is https://www.thescreenprintstore.ca/

While it is technically possible to create the screen at the hackspace, it is the hardest and most error prone step. I would recommand getting a screen pre-made at the screen printing store.

Once you have a screen made, the process is super easy. you can learn a lot from https://www.youtube.com/c/Ryonetplus

Hope that is enough to get you started.

Thanks Yeungx. I’m interested in screen printing because of a Youtube. I’ve never done it but it’s on my bucket list to try. Since The equipment is there, let me assess the material cost. I’ll check out the links that you mentioned.

1 Like

I haven’t screen printed in quite a long time, but I do have one thing to add to what @yeungx said - if you’re not trying to print a pre-created image, you can paint a stencil directly onto a screen using “blockout” and print that. Doing it that way takes a TON of the complexity (and expensive chemicals) out of the process, since you’re not trying to transfer a high res image onto a screen. All you’d really need is blockout + screen cleaner + a brush, since it seems like we have a ton of inks and screens at the space. Maybe that doesn’t suit what you’re hoping to do, but it is a really easy way to get started. Good luck!

1 Like