New at VHS - would anyone volunteer to give me a tour?

Hey guys, I’m a newbie at VHS and I was wondering if anyone would want to give me a quick tour/intro to the space to help me get acquainted? I live close so if you are planning on going in let me know and I can meet up - hopefully in the next week or so. Appreciate the help in these strange times.

Lyn

3 Likes

Hi Lyn,

Welcome to VHS, glad to have you here!

If you’re already a member, you can sign up for a time slot on the Thursday (5-9 pm) or Sunday (12-4 pm) Open Hours for non-keyholders, and the hosting keyholder will be happy to give you a tour of the space. If you’re not a member yet, don’t worry; we’re working on getting a set of protocols for safely giving tours to non-members, and that should be ready within the next week or two.

In the mean time, if you haven’t already seen the high-speed virtual tour, it’s here: https://youtu.be/MP_BO0C0RdI

What kinds of things are you interested in making? Are there any particular areas that are of interest to you, or that you want to learn more about?

3 Likes

Thank you for replying and OMG saw the virtual tour! That’s good enough for me, sold on every level. I’ll be by for the next intro session.

Cheers!

4 Likes

Oh just to answer your question. Right now I’m primarily into building (furniture and miscellaneous pieces). Mainly side projects to push my ability in wood projects. I dabble in a lot of things and I will probably start to incorporate different materials and skills as my time allows. I’d love to start doing some metal working as well - it sounds like you might be a good resource for that.

Thanks!

3 Likes

Fantastic! Yes, I think there may still be some slots on tonight’s non-keyholder hours, so once you get your membership sorted out you should be able to book something, either for tonight or Sunday.