Motorcycle Rack and Headlight Support

Hello everybody!

My name is Diogenes (Dio) I just had a chance to know the VHS Space yesterday and I got super excited about it!

I’m looking to make a simple motorcycle rack and some brackets for a new headlight, but I have zero experience with metal (I use to make stuff with wood), and I would like to know if there’s any workshop or something like this so I can learn how to use the tools.

Also, since this is the first time working with metal, I would like to ask if someone knows the best way to approach this, like the best materials, welding etc. I’m attaching some drawings with the idea.

Thank you so much! Hope you all have a great week!!

Cheers!

5 Likes

Cool!
I’ve done a few small things for my bikes at VHS, and I have another project I need to do soon.

First, GREAT designs and drawings. Having this drawn up makes life way easier, and you’re already way ahead of many people who look to start a project like this.

I always find it easiest to find a similar project, and use that as a base.
I found this: Motorcycle Luggage Racks | Adventure Motorcycling Handbook
where somebody is building similar parts.

For metal, I’d suggest steel tubes, and welding. I’d use MIG as I’m most comfortable with it, but there are more experienced metalworkers than me on this forum who will likely chime in. Bending is going to be he hardest part, but it shouldn’t be too bad. What I’d do is set up a wood form, and use a bit of heat to bend some long steel tubes around the forms. You have some leeway, since you can just hammer it till it’s close enough, then weld on the tabs after to match up exactly.

For process of learning, your best bet is to decide how to do something, and ask if anyone has some spare time to help you achieve it.

Get your hands on the raw material, plus a bunch of extra to learn with. There will be mistakes, but mistakes are actually a pretty cheap way to learn!