Looking for intro to EL wiring for clothing project

Hello there,

I’m new to VHS, and came down to the open house tonight to see the space and meet folks. I ran into Andrew, who showed me around the different areas.

I’m a graduate of fashion design, so if you need help in the area of sewing, quilting or costuming/cosplay, I can offer my expertise there.

For a future project, I would like to make a hoodie with EL wiring, possibly sound activated, but I have zero knowledge of electronics beyond a middle school education.

Could anyone recommend any books, courses or websites that might be a good introduction to either EL wiring or just learning electronics in general? I am happy to read through long, boring and dry, but a sort of kiddie-kit might be helpful to dip my toes into learning. Don’t worry about being patronizing, I know absolutely nothing and am starting from the ground up.

3 Likes

There are lots of different ways to learn electronics. And lots of different types of electronics to learn! If you really want to read long and dry textbooks, I guess you could do that. But I think it’s more fun to learn by attempting projects that are just slightly (but not completely) beyond your ability. As your ability increases, so to does the difficulty of the next project. That’s what I’ve been doing for the past 5 years and it has worked well for me.

Adafruit is a good place to go for projects, tutorials, and products. Some stuff you can get locally from Lee’s Electronics if you would rather shop in person.

Adafruit has a bunch of tutorials on EL Wire projects.

When you have a question, come on VHS Slack and post in #random-projectry. Usually you’ll get more answers and opinions than you really wanted. :slight_smile:

6 Likes

Thanks for your help. How do I join VHS Slack?

1 Like

No problem! You can generate a Slack account by going into the VHS member login at https://membership.vanhack.ca and then clicking the “Get Involved” tab.