Help me build a Vertical Electrical Steamer

Hello Vancouver Hackers,

It’s nice to meet you all here, how’s everyone?

So- here we go. I’m thinking of building a vertical electrical steamer such as this one in the image included.

This will be used to dye fabrics. The steam helps the dye set in fabrics that are composed of silk or other protein fibers.

I’ve never built anything like this before and quite frankly, am a bit scared. Would like to know if anyone is interested in helping me with it. OR better, yet, maybe someone here HAS created one already or something similar to it and would like to share their knowledge?

What I need to do right now is research all components of the machine and then would love to connect with anyone who’s interested in helping me with this. Who’s in?!

Cheers to all,

Mary

Hi Mary,

Not what you’re looking for but someone at VHS once built a wood steamer out of an out fabric steamer. Perhaps you can hack something like that into a vertical steamer? I’ve never seen a stove-pipe style fabric steamer like the one you’d like to build but VHS does have tools to work with sheet metal. We have a sheet metal brake for bending metal as well as lots of tin snips and other tools.

If you haven’t done so already I would start by googling around and seeing what other people have built. I googled “silk steamer” and found a few links.

It definitely looks do-able although from a quick read it looks like keeping the temperature steady may be an issue in home-built steamers. Perhaps someone out there has overcome that issue?

I don’t do a lot of work with sheet metal or fabric so can’t offer any other advice. Hopefully other members will! Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Mike built a wood steamer as part of his yak-shaving saga, here:

https://talk.vanhack.ca/t/ukulele-build-log/5052?u=jarrett

Should help get some of the creative juices flowing

2 Likes