Electronics Enthusiasts? High Voltage?

Hi there, I’m new to the space, and since I can’t come in in person I wanted to connect with folks who have an interest (or expertise) in electronics projects. I don’t have huge amounts of time on my hands, but I would be thrilled to pick off something from the lower hanging fruit on my long list of potential projects. I have a particular interest in scientific electronics, and vintage (tube) equipment.

Personally, I would really like to get one of my broken vacuum tube radios functional, but I got scared off last time by what appeared to be a sheet of thermally insulating asbestos. I have a “variable autotransformer”, but it’s not mounted in anything yet and I don’t have a lot of equipment at my house. I probably just need to test a few resistors and capacitors to get it running again (60 Hz hum). Before it closed, I installed BNC ports on an old RF frequency generator at the space (I hate to modify vintage equipment, but I could not come by an adapter), and tested it on your scope.

I also really like things like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u_OlVz95_tw

If anyone wants to nerd out in this way (remotely), please let me know!

2 Likes

I love high voltage stuff!

It should probably be disclaimed at the top of all high voltage chat that it should be mostly kept out of VHS, and unless you really really know what you’re doing, stay away because it can easily kill you.

But I do love big arcs

1 Like

@Jarrett, that’s awesome! I would also like to point out that I am equally excited about the elegant things that can be done with low-current HV. Not all high voltage projects are the same. After all, a Van De Graffe generator operates at 100s of thousands of volts, and we encourage children to touch them!

For example, I think it would be fun to make a demonstration of the photoelectric effect with a UV lamp, a DIY Van de Graffe, and an analogue current readout.