CNC questions from a prospective momber

Hi all!

I’m a not-yet-member who’s interested in joining to take advantage of VHS’ CNC mills for my knifemaking hobby. I’ve been trying to track down some info on the CNC capabilities here before committing, since a membership won’t be of much use to me if I can’t do certain things.

So, I was hoping the community might have some insight into the following:

1. Can any of the CNC mill machines cut mild/hardened steel? I’d like to profile and bevel knife blanks with the mill - I know hardened steel might be a big ask but I’m hoping at least one of the machines could reasonably handle a mild steel job.

As an aside - I was told one of the CNC mills definitely can handle steel but is out of commission. Any ideas when that will be back online, and do these machines drop out of service pretty regularly?

1. I’m totally new to CAM/CNC, though I’m pretty familiar with a few CAD packages. Does the CNC training available through certain members assume some prior experience, or could a complete novice like me expect to learn enough to safely and independently complete the sorts of profiling/contouring projects I’m describing (assuming I can handle the CAD side on my own)?

Thanks in advance for all your help!

3 Likes

Hi CCCos!

So I’m not the CNC expert, and defo not the metal expert, but I’ve been tinkering mostly on the wood CNC and can at least answer a few of your questions. Hopefully others will join in and have more info for you.