Ceiling Lights

I’m working on a project to make a workbench for myself at home, and I’m trying to get it to have some nice lighting.

At the same time, I’d like the option to record what I’m doing, so I’m hoping for some lights that are compatible with filming.

Does anyone have a suggestion for in-ceiling lights that would fit my requirement? I’m happy to augment my filming with additional lights, but I don’t want the sort of lights that you end up turning off while you film.

2 Likes

I’m no expert here, but the reasons I’ve heard for turning lights off during filming seem to reduce to one of Electrical or Audio noise from ballasts or drivers, or the light flickering at a coincident frequency of the camera’s shutter speed, due either to AC waveform, and/or driver design.

You might be better off picking a light source first, then applying these filters?

1 Like

Yeah, I’m hoping for a full-rectification LED driver to remove any AC flickering. Ideally something with its own frequency generation. I only need a couple lights so I don’t mind if they are a bit more expensive than your average light.

Since they are overhead lights, I’m hoping for something with a large diffused area rather than point lights.

in my last home office, I installed a cheapie LED ceiling fixture (this one I think: https://www.homedepot.ca/product/feit-electric-11-inch-white-integrated-led-round-edge-flushmount-light-fixture-energy-star-/1000832690) and never had an issue with flicker on webcam or 24fps dslr, on the few occasions that I filmed anything.

1 Like

Thanks!

I’ve seen those in the store before, not sure why I didn’t think of them! I do kinda laugh, though, at how bad the photoshop job is for the product page :).

You think for a lighting product, they’d at least try to get the lighting right :).

1 Like