Brewers Unite

I’ve heard rumors of brewers about the membership base. Reveal yourselves!

Personally, a friend introduced me to fermentation back in 2011 with a small jar of Water Kefir grains. I’ve brewed countless batches but it was too labour intensive to keep up.

I made about 7 or 8 batches of kombucha from a starter kit, but it never made a baby so I have up.

More recently, I made Tepache which has been refreshingly simple compared to the other processes.

I’m planning to try some mesophilic cultures and need to get a batch of beer under my belt (via the mouth is fine).

I’ve really enjoyed DIY fermentation and look forward to hearing what others may be up to.

2 Likes

Hey, I started brewing Kombucha one month ago ! And also experiment since 2 years making my own sourdough bread but it’s a lot of work, you need to make bread every 2 or 3 days!

2 Likes

While I am not a brewer yet, best I’ve done is make Yogurt with my Instant
Pot, I am currently reading

The Big Book of Kombucha

https://www.amazon.ca/Big-Book-Kombucha-Flavoring-Fermented/dp/161212433X

And considering an order from Kombucha Kamp

Assuming I don’t get a mother/scoby from someone locally.

Have Sandor Katz’s fermentation books queued up next.

1 Like

That was the problem with water kefir. It just exhausts you after a while. Sanitizing, straining, washing bottles, filtering water, dechlorinating… Every 3 days!!

Actually you dont. Just stick the jar in the fridge and leave for 1 or 2 weeks, sometimes I add a tsp of flour/little water to give it a small feed. Doing that for 5+ years.

I have half a died skoby and re-hydration instructions that your more than welcome to. Fair warning, it’s been in the freezer for about a year.

I haven’t done yogurt, but I do have some feta cheese culture and rennet sitting in my fridge waiting for an attempt.

I’ve also been curious to try viili yogurt which is one of those mesophilic strains that cultures at room temperature on the countertop.