Any interest in a blacksmith's forge?

I own a portable riveter’s forge that can burn either coal or charcoal, an anvil, a swage block, and various forging tools - hammers, tongs, chisels and such. Experience-wise I’m a seasoned beginner and have a decent amount of experience with teaching people who are new to forging how to start it up without learning bad habits, and I’m definitely wanting to expand my skills and very willing to learn from anyone. You can do tons of stuff with a forge - welding, tempering steel, forming, building tools, roasting marshmallows, etc.

I’m not a member yet, but I could bring it in during the open house on the 14th or the 21st and people could get a feel for it. What do you guys think?

5 Likes

Hey!

That sounds really really awesome. Have you checked out VHS before?
I’m not sure we have the facilities for it, but that sounds like the kind
of thing we could maybe take to the park a couple blocks away? Like, when
it gets a little warmer, have monthly meetings/workshops/demos or even more
frequently. I’d be stoked to hang around those.

Could be wrong about our ability to host that stuff in the building, you
would be a better judge of that than us, I don’t know what it all looks
like. Just as long as it doesn’t get us evicted, we want to be good tenants
(and neighbors)!

2 Likes

The proper space is definitely something that needs to be considered - I checked out an open house last week, and they mentioned that the loading bay could be a good spot, but I’d definitely want to test that out. It can be a bit loud! When it comes to fire hazards I’d definitely defer to you guys, I can only say that there are definitely proper precautions, and I’ve never had any problems with it or heard about a forge burning a place down. I think that it’s one of those activities where the way that it looks while in use tends to encourage caution :slight_smile: If it doesn’t work in the space I’d be open to something when the weather turns nicer for sure.