Newcomer here looking to get into tinkering/sound bending

Hey, everyone!

A couple of weeks ago my girlfriend and I stopped by the open house to check out VHS. It was a rainy day so unfortunately we didn’t get to meet a lot of you but we were given an awesome tour and it was enough for me to want to get more involved!

As the title suggests, I am a newbie when it comes to all of this. I have little-to-no experience in soldering, electronic engineering, programming, you name it, but I’ve recently taken an interest in these areas. So yeah, I’m a noob.

That being said, I am a sound designer, and my interest for sounds and how they are produced has led me into the world of tinkering/sound bending. I wanted to make a post here to see if any of you have gotten into this field at all, and if any of you would be interested in helping me learn more about this process?

I just beginning to work through a book called Handmade Electronic Music (https://www.amazon.ca/Handmade-Electronic-Music-Hardware-Hacking/dp/0415998735) which has gotten me quite excited to get rolling.

So, in essence, this is more of an introductory post with my intentions of joining VHS. I’d love to be able to learn from you guys.

Oh also! I heard when I was given the tour that there would be an Arduino class sometime this month? I’m very interested in that.

Cheers!
~Derek

6 Likes

On a semi-related note, if you didn’t run into this already, check out:

Back on topic; there’s a few (awesome) Arduino based music projects out there that might be awesome to learn from:

2 Likes

Hi @Derek,
Welcome to VHS!
“The Art of Electronics” by Horowitz & Hill, Bob Pease’s blogs on Electronic Design, etc. are great starting points: Not too mathematical but they don’t avoid it when required to design.
Best,
RK

Wonderful, hadn’t heard of that book. I think I’ll pick it up. I appreciate it!

Welcome Derek!