Metal Engraving, Air Tools, and Jewelry Tools

Hi I am new to hackspace. I was hoping to find a time to connect with metaljanet because I am an engraver and I use air tools and I have tools that might benefit others and I think Janet would be the right person to talk to?
Liz

1 Like

Calling @Metal_Janet! Also possibly @JohnC.

Precision air tools are awesome - what kinds?

2 Likes

Awesome! I used to work at a jeweller’s supply store in North Van many years ago, and engraving was something I always wanted to try, but never got around to. What kinds of tools do you have?

I have some grand plans in my head to set up a jeweller’s bench at VHS in the future.

3 Likes

I would be interested in helping you with that. I might need to make some jewelry

2 Likes

Hello Liz! Nice to meet you.

What equipment would you like to share, and what support infrastructure might it need?
Do you have an idea of what kinds of training requirements you’d like to have to ensure that the tools are treated properly?

Janet (the metal one)

1 Like

I have grs gravermax and meister and a grs graverhone for sharpening carbide steel. I have a gravers block and a press for bracelet bending, a foredom for fine drilling, an ultrasonic cleaner and a tumbler for polishing. I’m not really a jeweler I’ve mostly only ever done engraving but wish to get an oxygen acetylene system next. I’d be super happy to teach people who were interested. I’m really excited to meet you all and talk more about making awesome stuff as I have so much to learn!

2 Likes

GRS tools

3 Likes

Awesome!!! Look forward to talking more!

2 Likes

Awesome! I’m looking forward to getting through my probation.

2 Likes

Hello metal Janet, can you see my reply below? If not please let me know. In addition to GRS tools, I have a press for bracelet bending.

2 Likes