Help wanted, cake as payment

Hi, I am new to this community and probably about to become a member. To introduce myself a bit, I’m a university student studying geography and GIS and I am looking to get into Woodworking. My hobbies include rugby, cooking, DND, sci-fi and fantasy. I found VHS when looking for a makerspace and I loved the energy of your community and the whole ethos you’ve got going on. Here’s the thing, I have never stepped foot in a wood shop and I have no experience operating any power tools beyond my roommates drill. I am honestly terrified of cutting my fingers right off (I still need em) but I really want to use a table saw. Some of the community recommended I nag some people here to run a workshop. So, will someone introduce me to the woodshop, the space, the etiquette and run through the operation of a table saw with me. What I lack in woodshop skills I make up for in the kitchen. While my “better-than-sex” chocolate cake may not be actually as good as the name suggests, its still pretty great. I would really appreciate the help.

Thanks.

4 Likes

I’m a little better with the welding shop than the wood shop, but I can give you some of the basics on shop safety if you come by the space on Saturday. (we’re having a work party to put in the compressed air lines in the space, from 1 pm to probably around 5, which you’re welcome to jump in on if you’d like.)

Somebody who knows the table saw better than I do should probably give that lesson though; I can just do the safety basics on it, and there’s a lot more to know for ideal operation.

2 Likes

thanks for the reply! I cant come Saturday unfortunately I guess i should have mentioned I’m looking to start next week (the week of Monday October 26th). I think safety basics are really what I’m after this time round.

2 Likes

Hey Ben