Critique my PCB: DCC-06

Continuing my line of custom ESP8266-based PCBs for Dominion Cider, I’m now making DCC-06. Last year I made DCC-05 and have used it in lots of projects for telemetry and some light actuation. This one is similar, but has four analog inputs, and six high power DC outputs. I plan to use this in a few projects that require much more coordinated actuation:

• My bottle filler, where the analog inputs will be used for pressure transducers, and the high power outputs will drive solenoid valves.
  • A larger glycol chilling system, where the outputs will drive small DC brushless pumps as well as valves.
  • An automated keg washing machine, where valves will open and close to coordinate the cleaning cycle.

Since I’m still pretty new at making PCBs, I’d really appreciate some proofreading from our EE veterans. Your critiques and feedback on my last boards have helped me tremendously.

In prototyping, I’ve found that there is a lot of noise in my system. Likely sources are the cheap but beefy 24V switching power supply I’m using, and also driving a brushed DC motor (via an external driver board). I’ve had decent success sprinkling capacitors around, but open to more precise solutions.

Nice schematic!

First thing I’ve noticed is that it looks like you might be missing I2C pullups.

The design reminds me of @TomKeddie FET Shield Workshop board.

Maybe check out his Github FET Shield Schematic for reference?

Nice work, especially touches like adding the i2c addresses to the schematic.

1. consider separating the grounds on either side of the opto isolators. I guess the 5V and 24V are coming from separate supplies?
  2. the i2c bus has both 5v and 3.3v devices on the bus, I doubt this will work.
  3. consider a ferrite in the 5v path for noise.

am on a tablet so I can’t look at both at once, will check back again when I can see better.

Thank you everyone! A new revision is posted below.